Attica. Recreation and tours2022

    The land of gods and heroes

    Attica is the land where the most beautiful flower on earth – the democracy had blossomed.
    The Attica Peninsula forms a unique cultural landscape dotted with dozens of historical monuments and natural sights, all within less than an hour from Athens.

    General information

    Attica is a historical region that encompasses the city of Athens, the capital of Greece. Attica is a triangular peninsula jutting into the Aegean Sea. The modern administrative region of Attica is one of the 7 administrative units of Greece.

    A bit of history

    You don’t have to go out of the Attic peninsular in order to swot up on all the historical periods – Ancient, Roman, Byzantine, Venetian, Ottoman and Modern Greece.
    Its long history lives on numerous historical monuments and archeological sites.
    The history of Attica is tightly linked with that of Athens, which, from the classical period, was one of the most important cities in the ancient world. According to the historical data, Attica was settled in the Neolithic era and was called Akti or Aktiki. Its first king Cecrops united under his rule 12 separate tribes that lived on the territory of the peninsular and founded Athens.
    After the period of antiquity, Attica came under the Roman, Byzantine, Venetian, and Ottoman rule. During the Byzantine period, Athens was invaded by the Goths under the commands of Alaric in 396 AD. Attica's population diminished in comparison to the neighboring area of Boeotia.
    In spite of its conquerors, Attica managed to maintain its traditions. This fact is proved by the preservation of ancient sites such as Oropos, Dionysus, Eleusis, and Marathon. During the Greek War of Independence, the peasants of Attica were the first to revolt (April 1821), they occupied Athens and seized the Acropolis that was handed over to the Greeks in June, 1822.
    Attica has, since 1829, belonged to the independent Greek state. From 1834, Athens was refounded and made the new Greek capital (moved from Nafplio in Argolis).